2009 IATCCC Hall of Fame Inductees

Photo of Class of 2009

Click Names for Bios 

Coaches Category

Female Category

Male Category

Oatess Archey


Jennifer Dennie

Hammond Noll

Jeremy Allen


Dave Bannon

Franklin Central

Lutisha Shittu

Gary Wallace

Jeff Bolin

West Lafayette

Phil Hostetler



Aaron Fisher

Franklin Central

Doug Snyder

New Prairie



Rick Stover

North Central







Oatess Archey – Marion

The most highly recommended candidate in IATCCC history, with over 60 letters of recommendation.  He won the 1955 IHSAA 120 yard high hurdles with a State Record of 14.5.  He was an All-American at Grambling University.  Oatess was a successful head coach in cross country and track at Marion High School with many athletes earning all state honors.  While an Assistant Track Coach at Ball State University with Head Track Coach Jerry Rushton they had two distance runners receive invitations to compete in the 1972 Olympic Trails.  He became a highly decorated FBI agent and later Sheriff of Grant County.  He was a father figure and taught young men lifelong lessons.  He was a caring, compassionate, ethical man who was an exemplary role model.  Indiana Historical Society recently published a book entitled, "GOING OVER ALL THE HURDLES", A Life of Oatess Archey written by Dr. John Beineke a former student/athlete at Marion High School in the 1960s.  One of the first five Marion High School alumni to be honored in the school's Hall of Distinction.  Appeared in the sixth edition of Outstanding Young Men of America.  Other honorees of the Outstanding Americans Foundation included Henry Ford II, John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, Nelson Rockefeller, Jesse L. Jackson and Gale Eugene Sayers.

Dave Bannon – Franklin Central

Dave has been a meet director in cross country for sectional, regional, semi-state, and state meets.  He was also boys’ and girls’ track sectional meet director for 12 years and White River Park State Games track director for 10 years.  Dave also adds the Midwest Meet of Champions meet director to his resume for 8 years.  He has also been a longtime Indiana USATF chairperson. 

Phil Hostetler – Westview

Phil was cross country coach at Westview for 15 years and track coach for 8 years. He was an Indiana All Star Coach 4 times – 1 year in cross country and 3 in track.  He was nominated for IATCCC Coach of the Year 9 times.  He won 5 Sectional titles in cross and 1 in track, 2 Regional titles, 2 Semi-state titles, and 8 top ten finishes at State, 6 in cross country and 2 in track. He coached 5 individual state champions, 16 all state athletes in cross, 9 in track, 6 Indiana All Stars in cross and 2 in track. He had 1 Mid East Cross Country Champion, 1 Footlocker finalist in 4th place, and 1 Golden West track finalist in 3rd. 

Doug Snyder – New Prairie

Doug has been coaching for 35 years.  He helped make New Prairie Invitational the largest meet and athletic event in Indiana, reaching 2700 entrants.  In cross country, he has had 100 individual state meet qualifiers.  He has coached 3 female IHSAA state champions, 2 male IHSAA State runner-ups, 10 top 10 finishers, and 16 All-State athletes.  His team has won 10 regional and 2 semi-state championships.  He has had 8 boys’ teams in the state finals with 1 boys’ team earning runner-up.  He also won 19 IHSAA Sectional titles.  Doug was nominated for coach of the year 9 times.  He was also a member of the Cross Country All Star coaching staff for 12 years. 

Rick Stover – North Central

In cross country, Rick has won 11 sectional and 9 regional titles.  His team has made the state finals 11 times (top 10 – 5 times and top 5 – 4 times).  He had 1 individual state champion and 2 state runner-ups.  He is a 7-time IATCCC coach of the year nominee.  In track and field, Rick has had 49 state meet individual qualifiers and 14 relay teams.  He had 1 individual and 3 relay state champions.  He has coached 16 Indiana All-Stars and 2 team IHSAA runner-ups.  He was also a 5-time Indiana All-Star Coach. 

Jennifer Dennie – Hammond Noll

Jennifer was a two-time IHSAA State Champion.  She qualified for 14 state meet events.  In 1999 she was the 100 meter champion in 12.01.  In 2000, she won the 100 again and was also runner-up in the long jump with a distance of 18’ 9.5”.  She was the Midwest Meet of Champions winner in the long jump that year as well.  At Ball State University she was a member of the school record 400 meter relay team. 

Lutisha Shittu – Gary Wallace

Lutisha was a four-time IHSAA State Champion.  She won the 100 hurdles in 1995 with a 13.92 and won again in 1997.  She won the 300 hurdles in 1995 with a 43.47 and again in 1997 with a 43.90.  She was also a member of the state champion 1600 relay team in 1994 and the state champion 400 relay team in 1997.  She was the 1998 USATF Junior Champion in the 100 hurdles with a 13.32.  She holds the 60 meter hurdle record of 8.25 seconds at the University of Kentucky.  Later while at the University of North Carolina she earned 2 ACC individual titles and was All-ACC 3 times.  She was named Wachovia Women of the Week in November 2000.  Lutisha was also a 2000 Olympic Trials qualifier in the 100 hurdles. 

Jeremy Allen – Pike

Jeremy was a two-time IHSAA State Champion.  He set the state meet record of 66’ 8.5” in the shot put in 1997.  He also won the discus with a throw of 194’ 3”.  He won the IHSAA Mental Attitude award in the same year.  Also in 1997, Jeremy was named Track and Field Gatorade Athlete of the Year and was National Scholastic Champion in the discus.  In 1998 he was the U.S. Junior Champion in the discus.  While at the University of Iowa, he was a four-time Big Ten Champion and Freshman of the Year for both indoor and outdoor.  He was also a five-time All-American.  He won the shot put in 2000 with a put of 61’ 4.25” and again in 2001 with a put of 62’ 2.25”.  He won the discus in 1998 with a throw of 185’ 9” and again in 2001 with a throw of 194’ 5”.  He also played professional football with the Minnesota Vikings, New Orleans Saints, and the Atlanta Falcons.

Jeff Bolin – West Lafayette

Jeff was a five-time Big Ten long jump champion and also a Drake Relays, Penn Relays, and Central Collegiate Conference champion.  In 1974 he established an all-time Big Ten undergraduate best for the indoor long jump surpassing the board and conventional track marks of Olympic champions Jesse Owens and Greg Bell.  Jeff continues to hold Purdue’s indoor (25’ 11.5”, 1974) and outdoor (26’ 2.25”, 1972) long jump records.  Jeff was a 6-time NCAA finalist and 1972 Olympic Trials qualifier.  He was a Big Ten Medal of Honor awardee and represented the state of Indiana as a finalist in the Rhodes Scholars competition.  Jeff earned a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California, San Diego and is currently Professor of Biological Sciences and Associate Dean for Research in the College of Science at Purdue.  He also serves Purdue as Faculty Athletics Representative to the Big Ten Conference and NCAA.

Aaron Fisher – Franklin Central

Aaron is the only 3-time winner in cross country for the IHSAA at the 5K distance.  He also won the 1600 meter run in 2000 with a 4:12.0.  He was runner-up in 1999 and 2001 and 3rd in 1998.  Aaron was the Indiana Gatorade Track and Field athlete of the year in 1999 and was awarded the mental attitude award for cross country in 2000.  His high school PR in the 1600 was 4:07.89.  Aaron was the 2000 Mideast Meet champion in cross country.  At the Ohio State University, in 2003 he won the Big Ten 5000 meters and was runner-up of the steeple chase in his first year.  He later went on to win the Big Ten steeple chase in 2004 and was runner-up in 2005.  In those same years he also earned All-American honors for the steeple chase.  Aaron also qualified for the 2004 Olympic Trials and the 2005 USATF Championships.