2011 IATCCC Hall of Fame Inductees

Click Names for Bios 

Coaches Category

Female Category

Male Category

Tom Knudson

Ft Wayne Northrop

Sherri Dunn

Ft Wayne Northrop

Greg Allen

Gary Wirt


Sariyu "Beka" Suggs (Shittu)

Gary Wallace

Richard Calloway

Gary Roosevelt

Contributor Category


Michael Taylor


Keith Mitchell



Christian Wagner

Columbus North




Tom Knudson – Ft Wayne Northrop

Tom has been coaching and working Track and Field and Cross Country for 25 years. His most recent years have been at Northrop H.S., coaching Track and a few years of Cross Country. His teams at Northrop have made Indiana History by winning Six consecutive State Team Championships. (2000-2005) The Team was State Runner Up in 2006.  Those teams have ten individual State Champions, along with 4 Relay State Champions. They have compiled State Records in the 4X400, 4X100, and Sprint Medley Relays. A few of the athletes were on 4 Team State Champions which is very rare. He has had two teams qualify for the State in Cross Country while at North Side and Northrop along with several individuals. He has been an official for USATF and worked the World Indoor Championships, and the NCAA indoor Championships, Division I and II. He has also been a Starter and Official for the IHSAA in Track and Field. Tom is now the Indiana Coordinator for the Midwest Meet of Champions. 

Keith Mitchell – Columbus

Keith has officiated at 4 Olympic Trials, the Olympic Games and Paralympic Games, USA vs USSR, Pan Am Games, World Indoor Games, World Fire and Police Games, 30 NCAA National Championships, and over 30 IHSAA and NAIA Championships.  He has been President, VP, Officials Chair, and Certification Chair of INUSATF.  Keith has also won 6 different Officials of the Year Awards including the Meredith Payne Award. He was inducted into the USATF Officials Hall of Fame in 2009.

Sariyu "Beka" Suggs (Shittu) – Gary Wallace

Beka was the 1994 IHSAA State Champion in 400 meters with a 56.12.  She also ran second leg on the winning 1,600 relay (3:57.05) at the 1993 state meet and anchored the winning 1,600 relay (3:55.85) in 1994.  She had high school PR’s of 25.00 in the 200 and 56.01 in the 400.  While at Indiana State University she posted the third all time best 200 meters with a 23.66 and the fourth all time best in the 400 meters with a 54.30.  She also anchored the school record 1600 meter relay teams - both indoors and outdoors.

Sherri Dunn – Ft Wayne Northrop

Sherri was a two time IHSAA State Champion.  She was the  1979 Long Jump winner with an 18’ 5” jump.  She was also the 1980 Long Jump winner with an 18’ 4’ jump.  In addition she was the 1981 Long Jump Runner Up with an 18’ 6’ jump. Sherri was also member of 1981 400 Meter Relay Runner Up.  Her long jump PR was 19’ 6”.

Greg Allen – Gary Wirt

Greg was a four time IHSAA State Champion.  In 1991 he won the 100 with a 10.69, and won the 200 with a 21.45.  In 1992, he won the 100  with a 10.64 and won the 200 with a 21.84.

Richard Calloway – Gary Roosevelt

Richard was a five time IHSAA State Champion.  In 1961 he won the 100 yard dash with record tying 9.7 and won the 220 yard dash with a record 21.1.  He was also a member of 3 State Champion 4 x 220 relay teams.  Richard went on to become popular Gary teacher/coach/administrator.

Michael Taylor – Portage

Michael was a three time IHSAA State Champion and a three-time runner-up.  In 2000 he was the IHSAA State Champion in the 800.  He repeated as state champ in 2001 with a 1:52.30.  In that same year he won the 800 at the Midwest Meet of Champions.  In 1999 he was State Runner-up in the 800.  Later that year he was runner-up in the IHSAA State Cross Country Meet.  His other accolades came as a member of 2000 State Champion 4 x 800 team and the 1999 State Runner-up 4 x 800 team.  Michael had a PR of 1:50.65 in high school.  While at Arkansas he had a PR of 1:47.89 in the 800 and a PR of 4:01.94 in the mile.  He also ran three sub 4:00 miles on DMR.

Christian Wagner – Columbus North

Christian was a five time IHSAA State Champion.  In 2003 he won the state championship in the 1600 with a 4:07.11 and the 3200 with a 8:55.92.  He also won State in the 1600 and the 3200 in 2004.  His 3200 PR was 8:50.81.  In cross country he was the 2003 IHSAA State Cross Country Champion and the 2002 IHSAA State runner-up.  While at Wisconsin, he was All Big 10 1st team in Cross Country in 2005, 2006, and 2008.  He was also a 2008 All-American in 10,000.