KETTERING, Ohio - The Indiana boys all-star team had a record-breaking performance Saturday, leading to the overall title at the Mid-East Cross Country Championships.

 The meet draws the top 12 senior boys and 12 senior girls each from the states of Ohio, Michigan, Illinois and Indiana and has been held on this course since 1987. The Indiana team is selected and sponsored by the Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches (IATCCC).

 Led by a second-place finish by Chris Walden (Carmel High School), the Indiana boys scored a meet record 20 points. Walden (15 minutes, 24 seconds) led a parade of seven Indiana runners across the line in 5 seconds for places second thru eighth. The Ohio boys (55 points) were second followed by Michigan (95) and Illinois (109).

 “It was a great performance by our boys,” said Indiana coach Jay White (Portage). “They were confident coming in and wanted to run as a team, in a pack, not as all-star individuals.”

  Waverly Neer (Culver Academies) ran a 17:51 and placed second to lead the Indiana girls to a second-place finish with 53 points. Ohio (30) won with Illinois (56 points) third and Michigan (84 points) was fourth.

  “A few of our girls ran very well and it was enough that, combined with the boys, made it a great day for Indiana cross country,” White said.

 With their combined totals, the Indiana teams won the overall championship with 73 points. That is the second-lowest total in meet history. Ohio’s 60 points in 2006 is the standard.

  The overall championship and the boys’ title are both repeats of last year’s feat for Indiana.

 Walden came across the finish line just two seconds behind winner Austin Whitelaw of Monroe, Mich. But he wasn’t looking forward as much as he was around him.

 “We wanted to stay together all the way through the finish,” Walden said. “Basically me and (John) Mascari (Terre Haute North) tied but somehow they gave me third. Place didn’t matter. It was great running with these guys.”

 Walden literally did run with his all-star teammates. Following he and Mascari (15:25) across the line were James Martin (Fort Wayne Carroll) in fourth, Jace Lowry (Martinsville) in fifth, Morgan Welsh (McCutcheon) in sixth, Connor Martin (Westfield) in seventh and Bradley Hess (Fort Wayne Carroll) in eighth. All seven were bunched within five seconds.

 The elapsed time between Walden and Hess were a mere six seconds. This led to yet another record: total team time. The Indiana boys’ top-five total team time of 77 minutes, 10 seconds was 31 seconds faster than the previous Indiana record set in 2007. All seven of the Indiana front-runners broke the previous 10th-best time in meet history.

 The girls’ team also had a strong day, posting the second-best time in Indiana history for team time with a 91:00, only five seconds off the record set in 2001.




Team: Indiana 20, Ohio 55, Michigan 95, Illinois 109.

Individual (overall and Indiana runners): 1. Austin Whitelaw (Mich) 15:22; 2. Chris Walden (Carmel) 15:24; 3. John Mascari (Terre Haute North) 15:25; 4. James Marin (FW Carroll) 15:26; 5. Jace Lowry (Martinsville) 15:27; 6. Morgan Welsh (McCutcheon) 15:28; 7. Connor Martin (Westfield) 15:28; 8. Bradley Hess (FW Carroll) 15:29; 20. Kyle Overway (Logansport) 15:54; 24. A.J. Walker (Mishawaka) 16:00; 27. Gabe Ocasio (Columbus North) 16:04; 29. Josh Genet (Northeast Dubois) 16:05; 33. Filimon Adhanom (North Central).


Team: Ohio 30, Indiana 53, Illinois 56, Michigan 84.

Individual (overall and Indiana runners): 1. Michele Thomas (Oh) 17:47; 2. Waverly Neer (Culver Academies) 17:51; 3. Nicole Lucas (Bloomington South) 17:55; 7. Brianna Johnson (FW Carroll) 18:10; 18. Laicee Pierce (Crown Point) 18:29; 23. Courtney Edon (New Palestine) 18:35; 24. Skylair Hilton (Northridge) 18:36; 29. Jessica Richardson (Columbus North) 18:52; 32. Jordan Chester (Boone Grove) 18:54; 33. Allison Grana (Columbus North) 18:55; 37. Kaisa Goodman (West Lafayette) 19:01; 41. Allissa Peterson (West Noble) 19:14; 45. Erica Wirsing (Valparaiso) 19:39